Mexi-Beef Casserole (Adapted from Pillsbury.com/recipes)

I am on a mission to go through the thousands of recipes I have between cookbooks, index cards, printouts and pinterest. I refuse to buy anymore books. Well I said that before and bought the Cast iron cookbook. So I’ll say it is my goal not to buy more, God give me strength!

Ingredients:
1 lb. Ground Turkey
1/4 c. Chopped onions
2-3 tbsp. Homemade taco seasoning (see site for recipe)
1 (12 oz.)bag Bird’s eye steamfresh southwestern corn
1 can (15 oz.) Red Gold tomato sauce
4 oz. Cheddar cheese, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1 can (7.5oz.) Pillsbury refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
1 tbsp. Butter or margarine, melted

image

image

1. Heat oven to 375 F. In 10-inch ovenproof skillet, cook turkey and onion over medium-high heat, stirring frequently, until turkey is thoroughly cooked; drain. Reduce heat to medium; stir in taco seasoning mix, corn and tomato sauce. Heat until hot. Stir in cheese cubes.

image

2. Transfer to dish if not using a ovensafe skillet. All mine are but I know most people don’t have them so wanted to be clear this is not a must.

image

3. Separate dough into 10 biscuits; cut each into quarters. Arrange quartered biscuits around outer edge of skillet. Brush biscuits with melted butter.

image

3. Bake 18-22 minutes or until biscuits are golden brown.

image

(Makes 4-5 Servings) Each about 470 Calories

Ok so the thing I hate about such recipes as this one is the biscuits sometimes don’t cook all the way. Gonna do this next time with cornbread. I give it an “A” for taste. My eldest is home for spring break and was asking for seconds and thirds and there were none. Since he left for college I no longer have to double recipes. Fortunately for him my youngest was full so of course our human garbage disposal got rid of it.

Leave a Reply

