Eggplant Lasagna

(Adapted from Linda’s Low Carb Menus & Recipes)

Ok so I dared to make a dish with a main ingredient of which I’ve never had! I was worried I nor anyone else in my family would like it but it looked so delicious I had to try it. Before I could even get started on this dish my middle son with excitement precedes to tell me that he really likes eggplant and how he eats it at school. My youngest son on the other hand is staring at me with this face reminding me of Gary Coleman when he played on the show ” Different Strokes” and that voice sounding off in my head when he says,”What you talkin bout Willis”.

Ingredients:

2 eggplants

1/4 cup oil

Nature’s Own Seasoning

1 tbsp. sugar

1 lb. ground Sirloin

2 cups Ragu tomato & basil pasta sauce

16 oz. whole milk mozzarella cheese, shredded

3/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated (3 oz.)

image

1. Trim ends off eggplants and slice lengthwise about a 1/4 of an inch to 1/2 inch slices.

image

2. You should get no less than 6-8 slices from each eggplant. Brush both sides with oil and place them in single layers on a baking sheet (may have to do in more than one batch). Broil on 350 degrees for 3-5 minutes per side until tender, be sure not to burn them.

3. Brown the meat and season to taste using the Nature’s Own seasoning. Add sauce and heat.

image

4. Layer everything in a greased baking dish  like a 9×9 or 9×13(simply use what you have). The order will go Eggplant, meat sauce, then mozzarella repeating layers till done; you should have 2-3 layers then sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.

image

Makes 8 Servings

image

All things considered this was a good dish. I will say eggplant is an acquired taste. I will however try this dish again, my middle son loved it. The rest of the family wasn’t thrilled but we didn’t throw it under the bus. As I said it was a good dish we are simply not acquainted with the taste of eggplant.  Oh had a friend who likes eggplant try this dish and it was a hit.

Leave a Reply

